What happens when tracked records are removed between Outlook and Dynamics CRM?

Here is a small summary describing what occurs when records tracked between Outlook and Dynamics CRM are removed regardless of whether it is removed from Outlook or Dynamics CRM.

Deletions through Microsoft Dynamics CRM:

Type of Record

Dynamics CRM

Microsoft Outlook

Emails

Deleted*

Email Stays

Active(Open) Appointments

Deleted*

When the appointment is deleted in CRM, it is deleted in outlook for all users if the appointment start time is in the future.

Canceled/Completed Appointments

Deleted*

Appointment Stays

Active (Open) Tasks

Deleted*

Deleted as well

Cancelled/Completed Tasks

Deleted*

Task Stays

Contacts

Deleted*

The contact is deleted for all users except the record owner

Deletions through Outlook:

Type of Record

Microsoft Outlook

Dynamics CRM

Emails

Deleted

Email Stays

Active(Open) Appointments

Deleted

Will be Deleted* when done by Organizer. However the appointment will still remain in Dynamics CRM if deleted from one of the Attendees Outlook

Canceled/Completed Appointments

Deleted

Appointment Stays

Active (Open) Tasks

Deleted

Deleted* as well

Cancelled/Completed Tasks

Deleted

Task Stays

Contacts

Deleted

Contact Stays and will synchronize back to record owner’s Outlook when modified in the future.

Deleted* means the ‘Delete’ permission has been granted in one of the user’s security roles and this allows for the removal of CRM records.

One thought on “What happens when tracked records are removed between Outlook and Dynamics CRM?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s